How to get the love for lingerie into my chairs

Today I finally finished refurbishing the rocking chair at my desk. And of course had to put in a lot of love for lingerie since most of the time sitting there is spent on lingerie ‘stuff’. So I’ve choosen the same style as the chairs in the sewing room.You might have seen the post I made on Facebook about settling my sewing room in another room, though this was quite some ago. To refresh your memory or in case you’ve missed the post completely, this was one of the pictures:

werkkamer

Right in front you can see one the chairs around the working table which is quite high, 85cm to be precise. Most of my work on pattern developing or cutting fabrics I prefer to do standing so a higher table is ideal. Unfortunately no chair will match this height but from time to time even my legs need some rest …

To solve this dilemma I bought some ironing chairs, ment to accompany the ironing board for people who can’t stand for a longer period. At the time I still organised lingerie courses in my studio and bought 4 of those chairs for my students. Just 4 because with such small groups I could give them all the attention needed, making lingerie is not an easy task! Most of the time I walked from student to student so no need for my own chair.

Th chairs were very boring plain grey and to get more lingerie feel into the room I refurbished them with peach twill, which is a very very strong fabric specially developed for corsets in the old days. Not an easily available fabric but years ago I was able to buy some at my local market, wasn’t even doing any lingerie at that time but this fabric was irresistable for me! The good side is a shiny peach with tiny dots and the matte wrong side shows small stripes.

twillzalm

To make the lingerie link stronger I wanted to add some lacing. The back of the chair being just a kind of rod this had to added on the seat. But that’s where you sit and shuffle aroun on so loose lacing was not an option. What I did; I cut out the middle in a nice smooth line and used the wrong side for that part. Before stitching it back I sew on matching ribbon in the criss-cross style real lacing would have been. This was measured carefully and I draw the lines on the fabric before stitching over them.  Around the fabric I had to sew some elastic which was stretched out  extremely because it turned out to be impossible to staple the fabric on the bottom.But the elastic worked just fine, even after all these years it still holds.

strijkstoel

Well, to get back to my recent project; I do love my Stokke rocking chair at my desk. The best and most comfortable chair I’ve ever bought. Never liked the red fabric though and this wasn’t such strong material eighter. So when this was wearing out after years of putting up with my restless sitting habits I deceided to use the rest of the twill for refurbishing my darling. It was a bit more tricky this time since both the seat and the back were slightly curved.

This time I took off the original fabric (that is to say what was left of it) which was easy because there were zippers to open them up. Well, after spending hours finding the right tool to remove the bolts and use all my strength trying to turn them. Sometimes I get very suspicious about these things, could it be some sort of manhood conspiricy trying to keep woman away from the heavy duty stuff? There must be easier ways to get the job done!

But I managed and made a paper pattern of the fabric to get it symmetrical again. Fabric tends to shift around a bit during its use and not just in these cases. I always advice my students and costomers never to use the old fabric straight on the new fabric when copying an existing item. Always copy on paper first and make the parts symmetrical again before cutting up new fabric!

The lacing was done the same way as the ironing chairs. This time no elastic or stapling was involved, the original was fabric top and bottom and so is the new cover. The zippers were re-used so no need to buy those. The cover is not as tight because the original fabric was more loose and easier to shape. The twill is stiffer and doesn’t co-operate as well, I even had to add a few extra seams at the corners to get top and bottom fitt. But it will last a lot longer so I don’t really mind that much.

bureaustoelStokke

Right now I’m sitting on my renewed rocking chair typing away! Would you consider to try this at your home too? Would be great fun to know many of us share the same lingrie style chairs!

For an overview of all the Merckwaerdigh internet activities take a look at www.merckwaerdigh.nl

One thought on “How to get the love for lingerie into my chairs

Leave a Reply

